A Spoonful of Sugar.

When I began my Happiness Project at the beginning of the month, cutting out refined sugar seemed like the most daunting task on the menu. 10 days in, I figure, it is the least of my challenges (though no one has tempted me with a good enough cake so far, in which case I may not stay good!) But waking up at 6 a.m at the peak of winters and getting 30 MINUTES of exercise daily are definitely looking like my problem areas for now. One of the things I am trying often to have myself wake up early is to assign myself a specific task for the morning. Having a task to wake up to (other than doing stretches, because that isn’t good enough a reason for the morning me), makes me better negotiate with myself the purpose for which I am sacrificing the extra time under the warmth of the blankets.

One of the most helpful resolutions for January have been – ‘ RESIST SARCASM’ AND ‘ CHANGE ATTITUDE ABOUT ONE THING’. Sarcasm has been my favorite tool for humor over the grown-up years, but more often than not, it has made me appear less friendlier to people than I actually am, or hurt people unknowingly. It is not to say I lose a part of my personality, but I want to be more mindful of what comes out of my mouth this year. Also, everyday, when I hit a road block about something, or struggle with a familiar annoyance, remembering to ‘change attitude about one thing’Β  can help me move on quickly sometimes, and I earn a point on my resolutions chart!

Designing my resolutions chart during the holidays was one thing, but implementing it in the fabric of my set life, with real people and situations is a challenge. When this month is over, maybe I will reward myself with a little dessert! πŸ˜‰

2 thoughts on “A Spoonful of Sugar.”

  1. OMG…. So you figured it out finally…. But no doubt we love you for what you are. In my opinion, it has positive effect too. That is filtering from useless and meaningless relations and holding on to time tested beautiful friendships ( like me πŸ˜‰ lol)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

